Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes


My son is a chocolate chip cookie fanatic. He asked me if I could make him a cupcake that tastes like a cookie. So, of course, I could not disappoint my child. I found the recipe from another blog, “Annie’s Eats.” I modified it a tiny bit. I used less confectioners’ sugar in the icing, because it seemed too sweet with 3 1/2 cups and I used salted butter in the icing as well, and omitted the salt, but that was because I ran out of unsalted butter.

There is a ton, and I mean a ton, of butter, flour and brown sugar in these. So, if that scares you, back away now. Hey, but one isn’t going to hurt. Right? And what is better than brown sugar and butter?

Nothing.

As I mentioned, I didn’t have all the correct ingredients. For one, I did not have sweetened, condensed milk. Nor condensed milk. for that matter. I had to make my own. A bit of a pain, but it all worked out. The other thing I ran out of was unsalted butter. So for the icing, I used salted and omitted the salt. It turned out just fine. I’ll post the recipe as it’s supposed to be, but keep in mind, if you’re absent-minded like me, you can always work your way around a road block.

Makes 24 cupcakes.

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

  • 3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1½ cups light brown sugar, packed
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips   

To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 350° F.  Line two cupcake pans with 24 paper liners.  In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter and brown sugar.  Beat together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Mix in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.  Stir together to blend.

Add the dry ingredients to the mixer bowl on low speed, alternating with the milk, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients, mixing each addition just until incorporated.  Blend in the vanilla.  Fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula.

Divide the batter evenly between the prepared cupcake liners. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  

When completely cooled, you’ll need to make a hole in the cupcake for the cookie dough filling. I used the small side of a melon baller for this. Fun part – you have cupcake center to munch on whilst you finish!

Now that that’s done, you can go ahead and make the cookie dough filling. Don’t fret, it’s egg-free.

Cookie Dough Filling

  • 4 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 6 tbsp. light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 7 oz. sweetened condensed milk*
  • ½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

*Since I didn’t have the sweetened condensed milk, I made my own by simmering 2 cups of milk until reduceed by about 60% and then added 1 1/4 cups of sugar until disolved. Cool, and you have it.

Combine the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl and cream on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Beat in the flour, sweetened condensed milk and vanilla until incorporated and smooth.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until the mixture has firmed up a bit, about a half hour.

Using a teapoon, fill the cupcake holes with the cookie dough filling. Set aside and prepare icing.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Icing

  • 3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • ¾ cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ¾ tsp. salt
  • 3 tbsp. milk
  • 2½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • Mini chocolate chips for decorating

Beat together the butter and brown sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment until creamy.  Mix in the confectioners’ sugar until smooth.  Beat in the flour and salt.  Mix in the milk and vanilla extract until smooth.

Pipe icing onto cupcakes and sprinkle with additional mini chips and take a bite.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chocolate, Filled, Vanilla

Leave a Reply

